The Shop

There is a place where hidden treasures can be found.

A tiny storefront of an old building, in the middle of the avenue. Number 15. Surrounded by more modern shops, most passersby fail to even notice the place.

“Welcome,” offered the store’s proprietor as I entered. A wizened little gnome of a man, his spectacles perched before beady eyes. “May I help you with something?”

“This place is marvelous,” I breathed. “Might I look around?”

“Of course.” The gnome turned back to scratching away in his ledger.

I browsed the shelves and stacks of old books, discovering marvels. First editions, beautifully illustrated folios. Treasures! I wallowed in the smells and sensations of a dusty book shop.

Finally, I discovered the best. Making my choice, I took my book to the register, and the little gnome looked up from his careful handwriting.

“This one,” I said. “I’d like to purchase this first edition Ivanhoe.”

“Not for sale,” harumphed the Gnome.

“What?”

“This isn’t a book shop.”

I blinked in confusion. “It isn’t?”

“This is a book shop shop. I sell book stores. They’re going out of business by the cartload, you know. You’re standing in my Demonstrator Model.”

parkinkspot sq logo

Inspired by this week’s Sunday Photo Fiction photo:

A book shop that is no longer there

Prophetic caption on that photo…

8 thoughts on “The Shop”

  1. What a shame. That was a real surprise twist at the end. It’s tragic that it’s based on truth, I guess that’s considered progress. I have a Kindle myself and little bookshelf space. Good story and well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

    1. The sales model is changing with the technology (the same way pretty much everything else does).

      The small shops will always be with us; they’ll just be selling something else. Strip malls are a bigger threat 😛

Leave a comment. No, really. The Old One even comments back, often as he can.

