Midsummer Grove

“Don’t go,” I begged her.

“You know I must,” she responded as she stroked my face with her fingertips. “She calls me home, always. You knew she does.”

“We will appeal to Oberon, surely he could help us?”

“Dear one. Don’t ask me to deny my nature and my kin, to cut myself off from my folk and my grove. As much as you love me, you simply ask too much. And as much as I love you, I cannot stay forever in your world.”

When I opened my eyes, my nymph was gone. Forever departed through Titania’s forest portal.

parkinkspot sq logo

A product of this week’s Picture It & Write prompt:

Forest Sculpture by Spencer Byles
4 thoughts on “Midsummer Grove”

Leave a comment. No, really. The Old One even comments back, often as he can.

