Miniature Crisis in the Bunyan Home

“How many times have I told him to clean up his room?”

“Now dear, he’s young. I certainly never kept my room spotless at that age.”

“I stepped on one of those little cars in the middle of the night, when he left it out in the hall. You heard the scream, those damned things hurt.”

“We’ve punished him for that already. Toy cars are just a phase that a lot of boys go through, if we’re just patient, he’ll outgrow it.”

“If I can talk Paul into it, I’m going to see if he’ll move them into the sandbox.”

parkinkspot sq logo

100 words. Inspired by this week’s Friday Fictioneers prompt:

PHOTO PROMPT – © Jean L. Hays
37 thoughts on “Miniature Crisis in the Bunyan Home”

    1. Eeew! Prequel to a hundred thousand words of awful misery? I hope not!
      I think Paul just outgrew his Hot Wheels and left them stuck in the sand box. Pretty sure I did, too.

      1. I just wondered why Bunyan?
        I saved mine in mint condition ’til I was sixteen, then passed them on to my nephew, who trashed the lot within a month.

  1. LOL, this is too funny. Stepping on the car with bare feet at night–kids may outgrow this, but dogs don’t, and stepping on their chew-toys is similarly funny (and painful). Great story.

  2. I don’t know what’s worse, toy cars or Legos?
    And what does she mean, “if” she can talk Paul into it… wouldn’t be an option in my house, I can assure you!

    Great take!

    1. Legos are more annoying because they’re so omnipresent. And you’ll keep finding them for years after the last lego-aged child has gone off to college 😛

  3. In our house it was Lego’s – well into the teenage years. Sold thousands at the garage sale. The husband and son who bought them loved it, the wife gave me the evil eye. So happy to be rid of them. Great writing!

Leave a comment. No, really. The Old One even comments back, often as he can.

