Left it right here, I swear

Every time I go back to the apartment, I feel like someone’s watching me.

My husband tells me it’s just paranoia, but when the sunset lengthens the shadows, my skin always begins to crawl. I can feel them, over that way, watching and waiting for something.

All in my head, my husband insists. The only thing “out there” is the Pacific Ocean, uninterrupted for at least five thousand miles. Who do you think is watching, exactly?

***

The whales had been watching humans develop in downtown San Francisco just before the tsunami arrived.

…It was there just a moment ago…

parkinkspot sq logo

100 words. Inspired by this week’s Friday Fictioneers prompt:

PHOTO PROMPT – © C.E.Ayr
11 thoughts on “Left it right here, I swear”

    1. What agenda? I would see whales as thinking slowly and in the long term; their world changes slowly, when it changes at all.

      Until those fast-moving humans appear with their harpoons, anyway.

Leave a comment. No, really. The Old One even comments back, often as he can.

