Even the Largest Avalanche is Triggered by Small Things.

The “daddy longlegs” sits on a dry root, watching me with multiple prismatic eyes.

A common enough encounter, the little surveillance bots skitter everywhere in this desert. Microscopic plutonium chips power their round bodies, and they have multi-segmented legs that look very similar to pholcidae, cellar spiders.

The tiny scouts don’t take much notice of humans, as a rule. They still give me the jeebies, out here in the barrens, so I pack up my kit and prepare to move along.

A sharp buzzing draws my attention. One of the nasty hunter/killer waspbots, a “mud dauber,” swoops in on the longlegs. The two of them roll around in the dust battling, until the wasp lands a powerful electric “sting” that disables the smaller unit.

I throw my backpack over my shoulder and hike into the Omaha wasteland, while the machines continue to make war in the wreckage of human civilization.

parkinkspot sq logo

150 words. Inspired by this week’s Picture It & Write prompt:

Original image found here: http://www.thedesignwork.com/weird-pictures
3 thoughts on “Even the Largest Avalanche is Triggered by Small Things.”

    1. The image reads ‘apocalypse’, to me, probably all of those mad max type movies from the 80s, guys riding big tank-cars around and shooting mutants (or whatever) in deserts.
      Apocalypse leads to ‘war’ which leads to ‘bots’ which leads to ‘bots at war’…and when the bots are duking it out, people need to stay out of their way.

  1. I’m always amazed at what people can do in 150 words. And with such a simple picture! Good stuff, this. Sets up a world I’d dig to see more of!

Leave a comment. No, really. The Old One even comments back, often as he can.

