Worth the wait?

164-skeleton-with-skull-q90-1308x2073
How long will it be?

“Good things come to those who wait.” Do you agree? How long is it reasonable to wait for something you really want?

I’m not exactly Joe Patience, and yes that’s an understatement. My wife puts up with it, bless her, but if you stick me in a queue at a theater or the waiting room of a doctor’s office, I quickly begin to fidget and seek escape routes.

Doctor’s offices, particularly; why in hell do they make appointments for 10AM and then keep you cooling your heels in the waiting room for another hour? I’m prompt and on time (anal about that, in fact). I’ve seen the doctor roaming around the back office drinking coffee and chatting with the office staff…wtf? Is there an express lane here somewhere, doc? Some secret society handshake I need to give the receptionist?

I know, at graduation every doctor received “Here’s your wealth-factory diploma and our special free ‘How to be repeatedly rude to every single customer and still get paid oodles!'” brochure; but please, use the Power responsibly!

I’m ranting, right?

See page for author [CC-BY-4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Thank goodness for Kindle, my sanity-restoration anti-fidget drug of choice. Since I’ve begun toting it to every dentist/doctor trip, the office staff death toll has been considerably reduced.

So anyway, back to the original question; no, I don’t really agree. I’m not terribly fond of waiting. “Reasonable” is usually a really, really small wait. “Patient” isn’t a word people would pick to describe me.

I think this might be another one of those ‘many character flaws’ I mentioned in a previous post.

RecDave Seal

Waiting Rant

5 thoughts on “Worth the wait?”

  1. I’m with you on this one. The line at the doctor’s office is a mysterious process; they do always seem to be chatting in the office. If you knew you wouldn’t have time for me until 11, why’d you schedule a 10am appointment? I’d have gladly spent that hour doing something useful!

    1. My doctor always has “Rounds”. Confirmed, he does do indeed do rounds, part of his job…unconfirmed, three hours late? Frequently?!

      Annie likes him though, so she’s on his side. /rage 😛

Leave a comment. No, really. The Old One even comments back, often as he can.