Periodicity

Something is not right today.
Each day, I expect my life to resume its regular pattern.
I will go to work and do my job with smooth efficiency.
Then I will return home and I will do it again tomorrow.
As I always do. Accurate, reliable, dependable.
These principles define me.
But today I feel lethargic, weak. Drowsy. Run down.
I look out the window at the people running their routines.
Today, I just can’t seem to… Oh.
I climb back into bed. I close my eyes and the gears engage.
To add a few more windings on my mainspring.

parkinkspot sq logo

Inspired by this week’s Picture It & Write prompt:

Man in the suit by apaxngh on deviantart

And by the Daily Prompt:

Remember when you wrote down the first thought you had this morning? Great. Now write a post about it.

As usual, my first thought this morning was something along the lines of “Blergh, need more sleep.” Same as most mornings, really.

And by a recent episode of Face Off (featuring a clockwork girl make-up).

Yep, I can of integrate all kinds of unrelated stuff into a single story.

2 thoughts on “Periodicity”

Leave a comment. No, really. The Old One even comments back, often as he can.